Hero Image
New Mexico Tech Offices of Administration and Finance 

Sponsored Projects Administration

Welcome to the Sponsored Project Administration Office. We are located in Wells Hall, first floor Suite #11.

The Sponsored Projects Department (aka Restricted Funds), provides preaward and post award fiscal administrative support to NMIMT faculty, staff and their sponsoring agencies. We act as a liaison with all federal and non-federal auditors of sponsored research programs. The department monitors financial activity for compliance with the award's terms and conditions. Finally, we are involved in calculations of various rates which are applied to externally funded agreements.

Awards in support of research programs arise because of the technical expertise of individual principal investigators. The formal award of monies however are for NMIMT, and it accepts such funds to be spent only for designated purposes. Therefore, there is a shared responsibility between the principal investigator and NMIMT in accepting funds and carrying out the program for which the funds are awarded.

Department Personnel

NAME TITLE PHONE DEPARTMENT LOCATION EMAIL
 Gayle Bailey Director of Sponsored Projects 575-835-5915 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 3 gayle.bailey@nmt.edu 
 Elizabeth Blackwell Grants and Contracts Manager 575-835-6773 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 22 elizabeth.blackwell@nmt.edu 
 Nancy Bohling  Research Administrator 575-835-5917 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 17 nancy.bohling@nmt.edu
 April Brunson Direct Cost Analyst 575-835-5918 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 15 april.brunson@nmt.edu
 Igor Gomzin Research Administrator 575-835-6883 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 5 igor.gomzin@nmt.edu
 Sara Grijalva Pre-Award Negotiations Manager 575-835-5382 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 7 sara.grijavla@nmt.edu 
 Elmira Israilova Grants and Contracts Manager 575-835-5850 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 9 elmira.israilova@nmt.edu 
 Libbey Marshall  Accounting Technician 575-835-5800 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 11 libbey.marshall@nmt.edu 
 Carrie Marsyla Associate Director of Sponsored Projects 575-835-5781 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 4 carrie.marsyla@nmt.edu
 Samantha Miranda-Hess Research Administrator 575-835-6799  Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 21 samantha.miranda-hess@nmt.edu 
 Stephanie Rivas Indirect Cost Analyst 575-835-5545 Sponsored Projects Admin Wells 4 stephanie.rivas@nmt.edu