Dr. Ghosh Named President of N.M. Society of Professional Engineers

September 5, 2019

Mechanical engineering professor is the first NMT professor to serve as SPE president 


SOCORRO, N.M. – Mechanical Engineering professor Dr. Ashok Ghosh was recently sworn in as the President of the New Mexico State chapter of the national Society of Professional Engineers.

Ghosh (pictured) is the first NMT professor to serve as the president of the SPE chapter. Ghosh. He was named Engineer of the Year by the NMSPE earlier this year.

Ashok Ghosh This N.M. chapter has membership of more than 200 professional engineers serving all of New Mexico. Ghosh said he hopes to increase membership in the existing chapters, as well as starting new chapters in southern New Mexico cities such as Roswell, Alamogordo and Las Cruces.

Ghosh said he hopes to get more involved in the national organization as well. “I’ve been to Kansas City for the annual conference and I’m going to get involved with the national society because I see the value I can add to the SPE with my experience and expertise,” he said.

Ghosh has been invited to talk on behalf of the New Mexico Society of Professional Engineers at the November 8 Issues Conference at Albuquerque.

Ghosh has multiple patents since coming to Tech. In 2011, his got a patent for his invention of a composite structure that has Kevlar skin with a fluid-filled polyurethane foam core.

In 2016, Ghosh was awarded a patent for a new method and apparatus for removing dissolved organic solids from produced water. US Patent #9370747 is the result of a $1.4 million grant from the Department of Energy in 2008 to develop this multi-step system to desalinate and further treat produced water.

Ghosh has more than 50 peer-reviewed publications, five patents, numerous research grants, and is currently a Fulbright Specialist, having spent the summer 2018 at the Birla Institute in Goa, India.

Ghosh joined the NMT faculty in 2004. Since then, he has secured more than $3 million in research grants. In 2018, he spearheaded the creation of the N.M. Debate Competition, which continued this year with a competitive debate among NMT, the University of New Mexico, and New Mexico State University.

– NMT –